User Tools

Site Tools


manual:user_guide:geocaching:settings

Geocaching Settings


Global

Move to final waypoint

Final waypoints of multicaches or mystery caches usually need solving riddles or calculating formulas etc. In case the cache is imported from some database with calculated waypoints this function may come handy - moves the cache coordinates automatically to the final point.

Keep own data during import

Geocaches often contain some personal data - notes, photos etc. This function secures them against overwriting during refreshing import.

Auto-load images

Geocaches imported into Locus usually have only a reference to images in listings. Checking this option allows to download the images.

  • Disabled - auto-load is turned off, only texts will be downloaded
  • Image caching - the images are downloaded only temporarily for the time you use the application - they are deleted after restart.
  • Image downloading - the images are downloaded and stored in Locus/data/geocaching folder and you can work with them any time for how long you need until you delete them manually

Auto-load waypoints

Available only with Premium

Geocaches often contain additional waypoints. This option allows to display them automatically on the map. You can choose from a selection:

Your (owner's) name

Sets your Geocaching.com username to recognize your own caches.

Names of friends

Defines a list of your geocaching friends. If a friend from this list appears in the log scroll, his name is highlighted and moved at the top of the scroll.

Stored logs limit

This option prevents overgrowing of stored logs amount in memory when the option “Keep data during import” is checked.

Log your visit

Always log offline

Sets field notes as default login method and disables all online logging options.

Action after 'Found it'

Available only with Premium

Opens a new dialog: Here you can define automatic actions that happen when you log successful finding - 'Found it':

  • Hide cache - check to remove the found cache from your map (not from memory)
  • Move to - check and select folder the found cache should be moved to
  • Guide to next nearest cache - check and let Locus guide you to the next nearest geocache

GCVote

GCVote is an extension for www.geocaching.com that enables you to rate the quality of caches. More about this here >>

Show GCVote on map

Allows to display the geocache quality symbols (1-5 stars) below geocache icons on the map:
GCVote must be reloaded in advance in the cache detail screen.

Field notes

These options set Geocaching field notes (offline geocache logs stored for later upload on Geocaching.com).

Delete field notes

Allows to delete all stored field notes from memory. Make sure you uploaded all notes to Geocaching.com before submitting this step!

Pre-fill field notes

Available only with Premium

This time-saving feature allows to pre-fill field notes with various parameters in defined format:

  • {c} - number of found caches
  • {t} - time of geocache finding
  • other text, e.g. Thanks or TFTC etc.

Found caches counter

Sets initial number of found caches. Next found caches will be added by one. It is possible to load your cache balance from your Geocaching.com profile:

Point screen

It is possible to define three optional geocache detail screen buttons with following functions:

manual/user_guide/geocaching/settings.txt · Last modified: 2022/07/22 13:58 by mstupka